Libraries for txt_to_dxf (Day 1 Week 2)

From now on, I will also write something in the topic with the day and week. It’s kind of lame to just write date and week part. Okay let’s come to my today’s work.

So, first thing first, the github link of this project has been transferred from my private repository to GreatDevelopers organization. Here’s the link: https://github.com/GreatDevelopers/text_to_dxf

I solved the issue of wrong placement of description of the circles and arcs. Actually at first the program was calculating the center of centers of each figure. But now I have changed the code to find the center from the given extreme ends of each figure. Here’s the link to the issue: https://github.com/GreatDevelopers/text_to_dxf/issues/2

My next task was to convert the current dxf format into Drawing Exchange DXF 2007 format. So, I changed the header and footer data according to the format but it generated another problems like line was not visible, the output was still not supported by other cad softwares like QCAD, DraftSight etc.. There were many parameters in the header data which were changing whenever some changes were made in the figure in LibreCad. I was not able to figure out anything. That’s when Harinder came to my help. He suggested some new libraries like ezdxf 0.6.2 and dxfwrite 1.2.1. These are really good libraries as they support every basic elements like line, circle, arc, 2Dshapes, polyline etc., Dxfwrite generates the dxf file in R12 format which is a very old format but ezdxf generates in R2010 format which very much new. So, I will be moving on with ezdxf one. Let’s see how this one will help.